• MPI Michigan Chapter Announces 2022-2023 Board of Directors

    POSTED July 28, 2022
    Photo credit: Photo courtesy of MPI Michigan

The Meeting Professionals International (MPI) Michigan chapter inaugurated a new board of directors during its Celebration! gala at the Grand Traverse Resort and Spa in Traverse City in June 2022. 

The organization of meeting professionals offers education, leadership training, scholarships, and professional development for its members. Each year, MPI Michigan also hosts industry events and networking forums, including a Mid-Winter Symposium and the MIP Great Lakes Education Summit.

The 2022-23 board members are:

Debbie Hughes, CMP, president (Michigan District LCMS) 

Jenn Morden, CMP, CTA, president elect (Connect Space Inc) 

Karalee McKinstry, immediate past president (Consumers Energy) 

Brett Bowman, vice president, finance (Traverse City Tourism) 

Sarah Dysinger, CMP, CTA, vice president, education (Treeline Associates) 

Kim Corcoran, CMP, vice president, Membership (Destination Michigan) 

Jennifer Berkemeier, vice president, Leadership Development (Huntington Place) 

Cathy Mayhew, CTA, vice president, Communications (AGC Michigan) 

Stacy Yerby, CGMP, director of strategic partnerships (AMS) 

Dorothy Dean, Director of Monthly Meetings (Mount Pleasant Area CVB) 

Lindsay Kirchinger, CMP, director of Regional Conference (Michigan Economic Development Corporation) 

Kara Zimmer, director of member care (Boyne Resorts) 

Linda Bahr, CMM, CMP, director of fundraising and special events (Raising the Bahr Events) 

Mary Gettel, CMP, director of social media (Health Care Association of Michigan) 

Elizabeth Pike, CMP, chapter admin (Treeline Associates) 

For more information, visit mpi.org/chapters/michigan


The Daxton in Birmingham is creating a buzz over bees.

Bees in the D has put two hives on the roof of the upscale hotel. The nonprofit works with multiple partners to maintain hives in some 70 different places around metro Detroit that include several with green roofs — the Daxton being one. 

“Our green roof is nearly 2,000 square feet that is largely covered in sedum and garlic chive,” says Daxton Marketing Director Josh Griffin. “The green roof has been part of our hotel since we opened in April 2021 and is a great place for the bees to reside.”


Anchorage is a city like none other—making it a popular choice for hosting meetings and events.

Through the tall windows of the Dena’ina Civic and Convention Center in Anchorage, meeting attendees can gaze out toward Cook Inlet, which stretches all the way to the Gulf of Alaska and toward mountains—some snow-capped—representing several ranges. They may even see an eagle fly by or see one of the 1,500 moose that are said to roam Alaska’s largest city. It’s easy to see why it’s said that Anchorage is a city like none other in the United States.


Northern Lower Michigan’s Hotel Walloon has received a 2022 AAA Four Diamond Award.

The designation is awarded to hotels across North America that pass a rigorous inspection process during in-person, unscheduled visits.